Leap Day!

    It’s amazing how fast a month goes by.  I turn 20 in 2 months already? The speed is exciting and scary. I’m starting to realize that I may not have been engaged as much as I would’ve liked to be. I learn, as each month and experience happens that there are so many different ways to show love to these kids that is so much more important than following rules. I like to relate how I deal with the dorm rules and how Shelly Graham deals with rules like Old Testament and New Testament. When I get a rule, I stick to it as if it was a law by Moses and if I didn’t follow it I’d die. There’s not much love involved as much as fear. But I’m learning its impossible to try to force a mentality like that on a free spirited teenager. When I see my boss work, I see her not only making the rules with love, but enforcing it with love. The kids understand when they do something wrong that their consequences are for their benefit and because they are loved and cared for. I’ve noticed when I look back at how I handle cases that I look like I love the rule, or the law, more than I love them.

     …Jesus was a rule breaker. He scoffed at the Pharisees that cared more about the law than the life of a human. Jesus loved us sinners more than he loved the rules. You know that rule that says if you sin you die? Well, Jesus broke that rule to give us another chance at life. He broke that rule to give us choice, freedom. Jesus saw someone break a rule, and instead of condemning him or her to their fate, he loved them and gave them another chance to live. Like Mary Magdalene, when the phrases brought her to Jesus to stone her, He made it clear that he loved her and gave her another chance to live a life without doing wrong again. AND JUST LOOK AT THE RESULTS!!! Mary went on to become a core follower of Jesus. And what to Pharisees end up with? Hate? Shame? Regret? Nothing good. So my goal is to stop being an Old Testament rule enforcer and be a lover like the New Testament Jesus. That doesn’t mean i will stop enforcing school rules, but I will act out of love. Man, I would love to see what kind of a task force dean Jesus would he if he was here! 🙂

IMG_8670
A goat poses for a picture at Waimea Canyon on the island of Kauai

I haven’t posted in a while, so I’ll just mention some high lights of this year so far…

Camp Erdman was fantastic. The classes played games against each other and had a blast at the YMCA camp on the north side of the island.

My parents and I went to Kauai for one of my weekends off. We saw red-footed boobies (a bird) and the Waimea Canyon.

IMG_8608
My parents and I at the airport in Kauai

Art Class is making paper machee and other projects. It’s so much fun to see the creativity and art work that the students produce!

 

I had the opportunity to see Hillsong in concert this past weekend! t was amazing and heart warming to see thousands of people singing

IMG_9401
Ready to make art work!

praises to God!

I’m taking a French class at the University of Hawaii 😉 So if you’d like to have a conversation with me i know how to say “I have blond hair” in French!

On a sadder note, one of our task force deans left about a week ago. He was always finding ways to make people smile and telling kids about Jesus. He is missed by everyone here. It was a blessing to work with him and i know that because of him, the kids here know more about Jesus and what His love means.

IMG_0159
We miss you, David!

Thats all I have for now! It has been a blessing working for God here in Hawaii! Mahalo for all your support and prayers! Continue to pray for all the missionaries all over the world!

God bless,

-Jenny Wheeler

Leave a comment